all you need to know

City will participate in the UEFA Women’s Champions League for the seventh consecutive season in 2022/23.

Women’s team

Kelly: Scoring my first goal with the Lionesses was incredible!

A third-place finish in the FA Women’s Super League last season saw Gareth Taylor’s side once again qualify for Europe’s elite Club Cup competition.

This will be the second season of the new format, which consists of a home and away group stage, and the two semi-finalists will enter the first round.

Below you’ll find everything you need to know about the tournament, including all the key dates and our potential opponents…



The tournament features a 16-team group stage: four groups of four teams that compete home and away between October and December.

The first round will be played as a four-team knockout mini-tournament with the winners of the finals progressing. The second round will be two-legged knockout matches, which will determine qualification for the group stage.

The group winners and runners-up will advance to the Round of 16, which begins in March and is played over two legs en route to a single final.

Qualification UwCL

Four teams, including last year’s winners Olympique Lyonnais, as well as champions England, France and Germany, automatically enter the group stage.

The champions of Spain, Sweden, Czech Republic, Denmark, Netherlands, Kazakhstan, Italy, Iceland, Norway, Scotland, Switzerland, Belarus and Austria enter the qualifying rounds (the 12 places are decided by two paths: the champions path of seven qualifiers and the league path of five qualifiers).

The champions of Spain, Sweden and the Czech Republic will take part in the second round, alongside the runners-up from the six highest-ranked associations (France, Germany, England, Spain, Sweden and the Czech Republic).

The first round is made up of the third-placed teams from these six associations (including City) and the second-placed teams from the next ten highest-placed associations (Denmark, Netherlands, Kazakhstan, Italy, Iceland, Norway, Scotland, Switzerland, Belarus and Austria ).

Confirmed participants

The list of participants is determined by the UEFA Women’s Association club coefficients at the end of the 2020/21 season.

The six highest ranked associations (including England) have three entries, while the next ten highest ranked associations have two entries and all other associations are entitled to one entry.

Group stage:

Olympique Lyonnais (FRA)
Wolfsburg (DEU)
Chelsea (ENG)
Barcelona (ESP)

Second round:

Rosengard (Sweden)
Slavia Prague (CZE)
HB Koge (DNK)
Paris Saint Germain (FRA)
Bayern Munich (DEU)
Arsenal (ENG)
Real Sociedad (ESP)
BK Hacken (Sweden)
Sparta Prague (CZE)

First round :

Twente (NLD)
BIIK Kazygurt (KAZ)
Juventus (Italy)
Value (ISL)
Brann (NOR)
Glasgow Rangers (SCO)
FC Zurich (CHE)
Dinamo-BGU Minsk (BLR)
St. Polten (AUT)
Apollon Limassol (CYP)
Gintra (LTU)
Spartak Subotica (SRB)
Zhytlobud-2 Kharkiv (UKR)
Benfica (POR)
SFK 2000 (BIH)
Anderlecht (BLR)
U Olimpia Cluj (ROU)
Vllaznia (ALB)
Ferencvarosi TC (HUN)
Kuopion Palloseura (FIN)
ALG Sports (TUR)
Pomurje (SLV)
Split (VRC)
Shelbourne (IRL)
EP-Com Hajvalia (KOS)
Spartak Myjava (SVK)
Kiryat Gat (ISR)
Lokomotiv Stara (BGR)
City of Swansea (WAL)
Flora (EST)
Breznica (MNE)
Lanchkhuti (GEO)
KÍ Klaksvík Kvinnur (FRO)
Glentoran (NI)
Birkirkara (MLT)
Maxime Cahul (MDA)
Rigas FS (LVA)
Ljuboten (MKD)
FC Union (LUX)
Hayasa (ARM)
Lions of Gibraltar (GIB)
FC Paris (FRA)
Eintracht Frankfurt (DEU)
Manchester City (ENG)
Real Madrid (ESP)
Kristianstads DFF (SWE)
Slovakia (CZE)
Fortuna Hjorring (DNK)
Ajax (NLD)
Tomiris-Turan (KAZ)
Roma (ITA)
Breidablik (ISL)
Rosenborg (NOR)
Glasgow City (SCO)
Servette (CHE)
Minsk (BLR)
Sturm Graz (AUT)

Who can City face?

Sixty teams will participate in the first round. As City enter the league as seeded side, we will face unranked opponents in: Eintracht Frankfurt (DEU), Servette (CHE), Kristianstads (SWE), Sturm Graz (AUT), Slovacko (CZE) , Rosenborg (NOR), Roma (ITA) or Tomiris-Turan (KAZ).

Key dates

First round draw: 1:00 p.m. CET, June 24, Nyon

First round (mini-tournaments at a single site)

Semi-finals: August 18
Final/third place play-off: August 21

Second round draw: 1:00 p.m. CET, September 1, Nyon

First leg: 20/21 September
Return match: 28/29 September

Group stage draw: 1:00 p.m. CET, October 3, Nyon

Group stage matches:

First day: October 19/20
Second day: October 26/27
Matchday 3: 23/24 November
Fourth day: 7/8 December
Fifth day: 15/16 December
Sixth day: 21/22 December

Quarter-final and semi-final draw: 1:00 p.m. CET, January 20, Nyon

Quarter-final first leg: 21/22 March
Quarter-final second leg: 29/30 March

Semi-final first leg: 22/23 April
Semi-final second leg: 29/30 April


3/4 June 2033 (TBC) at PSV Stadion, Eindhoven

The history of the city’s UWCL

City have reached the semi-finals of the tournament in our first two European campaigns, edged out at the hands of eventual winners of the competition, Olympique Lyonnais each time.

We’ve never managed to match that feat since then, falling at the first hurdle in 2018/19 and 2021/22, and the second in 2019/20. A quarter-final in 2020/21 was our best attempt.

How to follow City’s UWCL course

You can follow City’s Women’s Champions League journey online at and through our official appas well as our social media platforms, including our dedicated matchday Twitter account: @ManCityWomen.

Comments are closed.